Finally Cal manages to complete his assignment and hands over the datacard, collects his reward, and gets his ship back in shape. Not without further difficulties, of course…:

Session Log:

-Create destiny pool for the session: 1 dark side destiny

-So I am followed, three guys, two humans and one scaly alien. Two will probably cut me off in the front any moment now while the third one, the alien, will close in from behind.

-Time to act first and fast…

-Roll initiative! Cal uses Cool, the thugs Vigilance: Cal scores two successes vs. one success from the thugs.

-The combat starts at short range and is run on scrap paper.

-I get the jump on them and draw my blaster, set it to stun while bringing it up and fire a quick shot towards the scaly alien behind me. It is never good to be surrounded. The bolt hits him or her, hard to tell, and it goes down, limbs numb.

-The other goons were clearly surprised, but not surprised enough, and return fire, their blasters set for stun as well. I guess in an imperial controled city like Tamesh Prime nobody wants to face a murder charge after all. My reflexes kick in as I dive for cover (Dodge talent), causing the shots to go wide.

-I quickly return fire and hit one of the guys in the shoulder, however, that was enough to overload his nervous system and he goes down.

-The remaining guy however was obviously a better shot. I grit my teeth as a jolt of pain runs through my body, causing my left arm to go numb. A stun bolt hit me and even my padded and armored jacket could not fully absorb the impact. Another one of those hits and I am out cold. (Down to 6 strain)

-Can’t let that happen, I take aim and fire…direct hit in the chest. The last of them goes down.

-No time to stick around! No doubt somebody already called in the stormtroopers. My arm is still numb, dangling useless from my shoulder. I disappear into an alley and take a few erratic turns.

-I take a different route to the meeting point.

-Stormtrooper patrols on the way? 65%: 24, Yes.

-Damn! A group of four stormtroopers has set-up a checkpoint ahead, almost directly in front of the cantian were I am supposed to meet my employer. Better try to get in through the back door. I don’t know if they got my description.

-Different route available? hard streetwise check: failure, everything canceled (successes, threat, advantages)

-The streets are crawling with stormtroopers after our little mid-day shoot-out. There is no way to get to the meeting point.

-I call my contact and explain the situation. I need to reschedule at a different location. Do they agree? 80%, 23, Yes.

-”Looks like we got no choice if we want the data. We meet tomorrow at the Watering Hole Cantina in the spacer’s section.”

-Alright, so now I have to get back to my ship somehow and wait it out.

-Can Cal get to the ship without being spotted? hard streetwise check: Success with two threat.

-I manage to leave the immediate vicinity of the shoot-out. The streets are safer here. However, shortly before I reach my docking bay I am approached by some street scum. They claim I have been passing through “their” territory and demand a “passage fee”. I could have probably taken them out, however, I was hot enough already and I didn’t need any more trouble. I was able to buy my way out with 500 credits. (Now 5540 total)

-Finally at the docking bay I lock the doors, secure the hatches and get some desperately needed sleep.

-As I wake up the next day the numbness in my arm is gone. I get ready for the meeting.

-I head for the Watering Hole Cantina, it is not very far from my docking bay.

-Encounter on the way? 1-4 on d10: 9, no, lucky me.

-I finally reach the Watering Hole Cantina and meet with my employer, the guy called Mese Resa.

-Always give yourself a chance to fail: Does he try a double cross? However, I assign very unlikely odds. He needs the card and has a reputation to keep, but you never know: 1 in 6 chance of double cross…roll 1d6 and…I rolled a 1, great! So now it gets interesting…

-”Can I see the card?”

-”Money first” I reply.

-Of course…Resa puts credchips on the table with a total worth of 2000 credits. That is 2500 less than what was agreed upon (Flashback: Cal was hired for 5000 and got 500 up front as described in session 6).

-”Your math is off.” My hand comes to rest on the hilt of my blaster.

-”Oh, but it is not. See, your little shoot-out got the imperials all stirred up. I had to wait another day after I already assured my employer that I would obtain the card yesterday. See, a lot of things had to be changed around, excuses needed to be made…yadda yadda yadda, the usual, long story short: Hand over the card, take the credits and be happy that you can leave.” He wasn’t joking.

-”Well, lucky me then, because I didn’t bring the original card with me.” I gave him my best grin.

-Hard Deceit check: Yes! Success with a triumph but two threat.

-Apparently he wasn’t expecting that. His facial expression betrayed him. He needed the card desperately and he needed it now. He was staring at me with ice cold eyes, you could literaly hear him thinking is options through. Of course I knew he had backup here somewhere nearby…

-Without another word he reached into his other pocket and put another 2000 credits on the table. Still 500 short, but he did have a point, I know the business. I am not risking my neck for 500 more.

-We made the exchange and I slipped the money into my pocket and handed him the card. “Don’t worry, it’s the real deal. I fooled you.” (9540 total)

-He left, shortly afterwards three more patrons left, probably his backup. Time for me to leave as well.

-As I was about to leave, two stormtroopers enter the cantina (the two threat from my check) and start checking the patrons and asking questions.

-Try to sneak out the back door: moderate Stealth check: of course a failure, but three advantages.

-The stormtroopers notice me: “Hey you, stay there…”

-Time to do the dance again: Hard Deceit check, because of the three advantages I get to add a boost die. Lucky me, success, all threat canceled.

-Thanks to my quick wit and quicker tongue I convince them, that I was not the guy they were looking for.

-Back in my ship, I call up starport services to get a maintenance crew to do some needed repairs: Restore 12 points of hull for 500 credits each: 6000 credits (now 3540 total, ship is at 20 hull from 22 total and has all strain removed), repairs will take 6 days.

-Get 15 XP for the adventure, now at 19 XP. Purchase two ranks in Skullduggery for 15 XP, 4 XP left.

