My recon mission with Corporal Selcam continues and things are looking grim…

-According to my map I had about a day’s march ahead of me until I reach the swamp. I was awake all night and grew tired. I decide to get a few more kilometers between me and the scanning post and then find a suitable and hidden resting place in a small pocket of woodland.

-A: I find a secluded resting place and take a quiet rest. 1d8
-B: I find a secluded resting place but it is already occupied by dangerous wildlife. 1d6

-B wins 5 to 3: Up ahead I spot a small area of woodland, maybe about a dozen trees or so standing close together. It fits the bill, carefully I move closer.

-A dangerous predator, a telbargian tigerlizard, is lurking in the grassland. It is the size of a tiger and has the anatomy and agility of a tiger but the needlesharp teeth and tough scaly hide of a lizard, as well as razor sharp claws. It has spotted Cane and is about to make it’s move. Stats: 10 hp, armor 1, 1d6+1 damage with claws and bite

-Does Cane notice it? Wisdom roll: 2d6+2: 8 total.

-Wait, what was that? Movement? I slowly raise my blaster carbine…as suddenly a terrifying creature charges forward out of the grass and jumps, aiming right for my throat. I barely manage to dodge out of the way, one of its claws slashes me (reduced damage of 1d3, 3 great) and cuts into my arm (12 hp left).

-The adrenalin blocks out the pain. The creature charges again, I fire three quick bursts with my blaster carbine…(Dex roll: 2d6+3: 10 total, yes!)

-The blaster bolt hits the creature (1d6+1 damage, 7 total -1 armor, 6 damage, 4 hp left). It hisses in pain and presses the attack, now in a killing frenzy. It charges at me.

-I fire two more shots while moving sideways and backwards…(2d6+Dex: 10 total again, lucky me, 4 damage after armor)

-One shot goes wide but the other one hits the creature dead center in mid-air. With a final painful roar it hits the ground, lifeless.

-I now have time to look at my wound. A deep cut.

-A: The creatures claws where coated with some sort of poison. 1d4
-B: It is just a deep cut that needs cleaning and sewing. 1d8

-A wins 4 to 1: Damn!

-I suddenly feel dizzy. Something is not right here…a disturbing thought enters my head…I quickly examine the claws of the dead creature. Just as I feared, they are coated with some sort of clear substance.

-I have to act quickly before I pass out…(Con roll: 13 total, lucky me). I fight the poison, gritting my teeth. Quickly I get out my survival gear. It includes an universal antidote in an auto-injection tube. I stick the tube into my thigh, with a hiss it injects the antidote.

-A: It works. 1d10
-B: It doesn’t work. 1d6

-A wins 6 to 1: Thank the maker, I can feel the antidote working. The dizzyness gets better. I still have to treat the wound. I get the skin stapler out of my medkit. This is going to hurt a little…I quickly staple the cut together and clean it with a desinfectant before I put a bacta patch over it.

-This should do for now. Exhausted I finally reach the trees and set-up a secluded camp. I get out a field ration and some beef jerky, as well as water and settle in for the rest of the day. I will continue my march towards the installation after sundown.

-A: nothing happens during the night. 1d8
-B: I once again encounter dangerous wildlife. 1d10
-C: Imperial troops are in the area. 1d6

-B wins: use RPGsolo.com as random idea generator to determine creature using MAG: Wisdom roll to see if I notice the creature: 9 total, barely missed a total success.

-I set a timer to wake me up after 6 hours and dozed off. I fell asleep pretty quick. Even though the timer didn’t go off yet I woke up after a while. I don’t know…was that a noise? A hiss maybe? I look around. What the hell!

-Clinging to a branch above me was a vicious looking creature. The size of a dog but with a more lizardlike anatomy. It was furry but it’s back was made up of bony spikes like those of a hedgehoc and it had a tail that split into two tails. One end ended in a bony sawblade, the other one had a scorpion-like sting. It hissed. It’s spikes were standing up…

-Out of instinct I rolled to the side, not one second to late as the creature unleashed two spikes that were shooting out of it’s back, however, one spike still got me. (1d6 damage, 3 damage, 9 hp left). After the spike attack it drops to the ground. Creature stats: 8 hp, no armor, 1d6 damage with spikes, 1d6+1 with tail ends.

-I ignore the pain and get on my feet, drawing my vibroblade in the process. As the creatures tail lashes forward I dodge to the side and slash at the tail with my razorsharp blade. (Dex roll: yes, natural 11, 14 total, but only three damage, creature down to 5).

-The creature hisses as I cut of the sting of one of it’s tail ends. I lunge forward and make another attack. (Dex roll: Ups, natural two, 5 total, complete failure, ouch)

-I stumble and fail to catch my fall. I drop prone on the ground. The creatures bony sawblade slashes viciously over my back. (3 damage, 6 hp left for Cane).

-I manage to roll around just in time as the creature lunges forward. I thrust upwards with my vibroblade…(Dex roll: rolled three, six total, another failure) but missed the creature. It is now on top of me, I can smell it’s foul breath, and buries it’s teeth in my shoulder (1d6 damage, lucky me, only 1 damage, 5 hp left).

-This was probably my last chance: I mobilize all my strength and attempt to thrust the vibroblade into the creature while hoping to push it off me to the side. Strength roll: rolled 5, 6 total, another failure, come on…

-But before I could land a blow the creature took another bite. (4 damage, 1 hp left…).

-Desperately I pull out my survival knife from my belt. It is smaller and easier to use in close-quarter combat. I was running out of options fast. I thrust it into the side of the creature…(Str roll: rolled 6, 7 total, at least a success, but with a price…and I deal only two damage, creature at 3 hp)

-I can feel the blade enter the belly of the beast. It howls and rolls over to the side, but while doing so it rips out a chunk of flesh out of my arm…I scream as I have never screamed before…(since I will suffer at least one point of damage I now have the wounded condition, meaning I get -3 to all rolls according to the Streets of Mos Eisley rules)

-Time to see if fate might save me: Since the creature is also severely wounded with a cut-off tail end and a knife in it’s belly I imagine the scene as a standoff: Creature and human stare at each other, wounded, circling…waiting for a move.

-A: The creature retreats. 1d6
-B: The creature attacks again. 1d6

-B wins, 4 to 3: The creature is in a killing frenzy now. It jumps…I try to bring my blaster pistol up in time and shoot (Dex roll with -3 penalty: Yes, natural 11, 8 total, partial success…3 damage, enough to kill the creature, but it was only a partial success…).

-As the creature falls to the ground it’s getting dark around me as I pass out…

To be continued…

