Cal Selcam’s mission continues as he marches forward towards his destination…
-After six hours of rest I continue my march under the cover of the night. Wisdom roll to notice shadowsnake: 7 total. Partial success. Shadowsnake stats: HP 8, Armor 2, 1d6 damage bite and spit poison: Con roll or blinded.

-Out of the dark waters a large snakelike creature with a pitchblack body and a cobra-like head emerges. The thick snakebody is supported by two muscular legs that help the upper body to stand up while the lower body slithers around on the ground in a snakelike fashion.

-The creature hisses and spits a substance at me, I manage to dodge out of the way while drawing my vibroblade in an attempt to behead the creature. I strike true but at the same time, one of it’s clawed legs slashes at me.

-Cane hits for 5 damage after armor, reducing the creature to 3 points but suffers 4 points of damage himself (8 hp left).

-I press the attack while trying to dodge its head that darts forward and tries to bite me while sporadically spitting some sort of poison. Dex roll: 12 total, lucky me, 4 damage after armor, enough to kill the creature.

-I manage to dodge out of the way and with a precise slash my combat vibroblade cuts the creature’s skull in half. I had only a minor scratch. Lucky for me the creature’s teeth were not covered with poison.

-According to my map it will take me a march of four days to reach the vicinity of the installation. I will handle the march with four encounter checks, one per day including rest with a 50/50 chance: a total of two encounters during the march.

-Encounter 1: scheduled imperial patrol (inspired by two story cubes): On the second day of my march (regenerate 1d6 hp: 1 hp, so back to 9) I hear the distinctive noise of repulsor engines again. The noise draws near. It looks like I have entered the imperial patrol radius. I quickly hide in the underbrush…(Stealth roll with Dexterity: 8 total, partial success).

-I manage to hide quick enough but didn’t have time to pay to close attention to the terrain: I am stuck in a muddy swamphole! Str roll with Athletics to get out: Natural 12! 13 total, lucky me. My advancement rule: A natural 12 means I get to make an advancement roll for the ability used, in this case strength. I have to roll 1d6 and roll over the current value, in this case over 1. If I manage the advancement roll I get to increase the ability by one, get to pick an additional skill and gain +2 hp. I am limited to one advancement roll per session.

-Alright, roll a d6: A 4, success, Strength increases to +2, I get +2 hp and are now at 11 from 17 and for the additional skill I pick Perception.

-Encounter 2: I am attacked by a swarm of large birdlike airborne predators on day 4 at the edge of the forest (6 of them). Stats for the Swarm (act as group): 12 hp, 1d6+2 damage (razor sharp talons and beaks).

-Past midnight on the fourth day of my march I could see the outline of the forest in the moonlit night ahead. As I came closer, 6 black objects flew into the air from one of the treetops.

-I got out my macrobinoculars, turned on the nightvision and get a look. Looks like a swarm of giant eaglelike birds. This is a strange planet indeed.

-The birds circle for a while and I march further towards the forest. Suddenly they screech and divebomb towards me!

-Do I get my blaster carbine up quick enough? Dex roll: 9 total (6+3). Almost…

-I quickly bring my blaster carbine and fire three quick shots of deadly red bolts of light into the sky (6 damage total, 6 hp left). The bolts hit and three dead birds hit the ground as the other three come at my with razor sharp talons. I dive for cover into the grass but to late, they got me (5 damage, 6 hp left).

-I can feel the deep cut. It’s not over yet…I roll over onto my back, carbine at the ready, and shoot…(11 total, success, 4 damage, two more birds dead). I hit two more of them…the last one gains altitude and…

-A: makes another pass, 1d6
-B: flys back into it’s tree lair, 1d8

…dives at me once more. I dodge and shoot…(yes! natural 11, 14 total, 2 damage minimum so I kill it) and the last bird drops down dead.

-A: The blaster bolts going up into the air were witnessed by imperial patrols. 1d10
-B: I was lucky and it stays quiet. 1d6

-B wins 5 to 2, lucky me.

-After this unpleasant encounter I am again in not so good shape. I don’t have a medpac anymore, just the basic medical supplies in my survival gear to clean and staple the cuts.

-I decide to press onward until I reach the edge of the forest and find a secluded resting place for a makeshift camp.

To be continued…

A quick look behind the scenes: Here is the map of the mission area I created randomly. I just drew up some terrain section outlines and rolled 1d6 per section to determine the terrain in that section. Nothing special and works for the adventure just fine:

mission-map

