While browsing through Drivethrurpg.com, looking for some more quick start rules to try out I stumbled upon a nice little game called The Basic Hack. You can check it out here:

http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/200340/The-Basic-Hack

It was written by Nathan J. Hill.

It uses some interesting mechanics and I figured it couldn’t hurt to try it out. Character generation is quick and straightforward and I was playing within a few minutes. Even though I died quickly I still enjoy the system and I will use it again.

So here is my actual play of my short adventure:

Character:

Vincent de Vega: Cunning human rogue, swashbuckler, gambler and disinherited son of a minor noble house.

Str 10, Dex 14, Con 6, Int 9, Wis 7, Cha 10, HP 11 (includes 3 armor points, leather armor)

-Advantage when trying to sneak, disarm traps and open locks.

Gear:
leather armor (3 armor points), 3x dagger (1d4 damage, finesse weapon, close/nearby), rapier (1d6 damage, finesse weapon, close), adventurer’s pack (backpack, bedroll, 5 torches, 5 rations, flint and steel, waterskin, skinning knife, fishook and line, crowbar, rope and grappling hook)

Gold: see notes

Rations: see notes

Setting:
The Nentir Vale

Quest:

-Vincent de Vega is hired by a broken and desperate father who has lost his only daughter to a group of Gruumsh cultists that used her in a ritual sacrafice. The old man, a respected craftsman in Fallcrest, has cobbled together all his savings and offers 100 gold pieces for wiping out the cultist group.

-According to rumors, they have their hideout in the woods between the Old Hills and the Gray Downs.

-Vincent has accepted the quest out of sympathy for the old man and because he feels sorry for his loss.

Fallcrest:

-I try to gather some information about this cultist group. Maybe somebody on the streets has heard something and talks. Charisma test: 7, success. A fallen cleric who was expelled from the church has sympathy for my cause and shares some information: The group is run by an old aquaintance of him who has turned to evil. He tells me of a small descecrated shrine and makes a sketch on a piece of parchement to guide me there. It is located deep within the woods.

-I try to convince the cleric to accompany me, telling him that he doesn’t need to be part of a church to do good. Charisma check: 14, fail.

-The cleric declines.

-On foot I will need a little more than a day to get there.

-I spend one night in a nice tavern, rent a fine room, enjoy a big dinner and do some gambling. What is the most amount of money they are willing to bet? 1d6 gold pieces. 1 gp. That is not really worth the trouble so I don’t try to cheat. Determine winner: roll of 11+ on 1d20: 11, success. I win (add 1 gp, now 11).

-The next morning I pay the bill of 3 gp (8 left), pack my things and leave Fallcrest through the north gate.

The Wilderness:

-Do I encounter anything in the wilderness? Three encounter checks, morning, midday and evening, each with 2 in 6 chance: One encounter in the evening.

-Use Adventuresmith app to create encounter: A dead animal with a group of gnolls around it (5 gnolls).

-I don’t intend to fight them, so I try to sneak around: Dex check with advantage: 4, success. Silent and agile as a cat I circle around the gnolls unseen, who seem to feast on a dead deer.

-It is already dark and I don’t want to enter the woods in the dark. I get some more distance between me and the gnolls and make camp at the edge of the forest and eat a ration (4 left).

-Wisdom check (survival) to see if I was able to set up camp somewhat hidden: 17, fail. Do I encounter something during the night? 50%: Yes!

-Encounter: Story cubes: Snake and backpack.

-A large constrictor snake slithers out of the woods into my camp and wants to crush me. Do I wake up? Wisdom check: 8, fail.

-I wake up because of some intense pain that rips me out of my sleep. A giant snake has wrapped itself around me! (Disadvantage in combat)

-Constrictor snake: HP 8, Dmg 1d6

-I try to grab my dagger, which is difficult because the snake tries to crush me! Dex check with Disadvantage: 8, 19, pick 19, fail.

-The snake tightens it’s grip. I try to resist (Str check, no Disadvantage): 7, success. I grit my teeth and push against the snake. Maybe I can get out my dagger now (Dex with Disadvantage): 6, 7, pick 7, success. I get hold of my dagger and drive it into the snake’s body. 1 Damage, 7 left.

-I don’t get a good thrust in as the snake constricts again…Str check, 20, critical failure, double damage, 5 damage total, 6 hp left.

-I feel some of my rips crush. I gather all my resolve and drive my dagger into the snake again (3 damage, 4 hp left).

-I am able to resist the deadly grip some more but I can’t get out. The snake constricts again, pressing the air out of my lungs. It is getting dark…(2 damage, I have 4 hp left).

-I try one more time, without luck…

-I pass out as the snake constricts once more (6 damage, -2 hp, dead). Suddenly, there is no more pain…

