I really like the quick and elegant so1um rules created by Matt Jackson so I tinkered with them a little and did some brainstorming for a slightly more complex but not necessarily more complicated variant. Even though it is little more than mental notes at the moment I decided to try a few concepts playing through the published adventure that came with the Edge of the Empire Beginner Game. I never played it, so I decided to go ahead and try it out, using the Miso RPG along with the GM apprentice deck to keep a little surprise for the solo player.

So here are the first two encounters:

Characters:

Pash – Human smuggler: Body 1, Mind 3, Charm 2, Hitpoints 5, Damage 1, Cliche: Lucky Smuggler

Oskara – Twi’lek bounty hunter: Body 3, Mind 2, Charm 1, Hitpoints 7, Damage 2, Cliche: Efficient Bounty Hunter

Setup:

The heroes are racing through the streets of Mos Shuuta on the desert planet Tatooine. They are on the run from a group of thugs in the employ of Teemo the Hutt, a local crime boss. They have decided to resign their service with Teemo’s organisation without asking him for permission, so they need to make a quick getaway. Unfortunately, the only way out of Mos Shuuta is by starship, which the heroes need to aquire somehow…

During the adventure I will document the events through the eyes of the smuggler Pash.

I will also use the technique of rewriting the adventure on the fly using the Miso RPG approach to retain some element of surprise for the solo player:

The scenario outlined in the published adventure will always be option A with a d10 assigned for odds and I will come up with a slightly different scenario that fits the context which will always be option B with a d6 assigned for odds.

When the encounter starts, I will roll off the options, higher roll wins, to see what is going on. If I need some sort of GM emulation or oracle I will use the GM apprentice card deck as randomizer.

Check it out here:

http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/125685/The-GameMasters-Apprentice-Base-Deck?term=gm+apprentice&test_epoch=0

And the Miso RPG here:

http://dieheart.net/miso-v1/

Encounter 1: On the run

Option B: The patrons in the bar work for Teemo and have been warned by Teemo’s thugs by comlink that we are coming, since the Gamorreans have spotted us heading for the cantina. A wins 9 to 1, so it goes by the book.

-As we race through the sandy streets of this rathole of a spaceport I spot a cantina ahead. “Quick Oskara…in there! Maybe this place has a backdoor to slip away unnoticed.” We head for the entrance.

-The air inside the room is cool, a few patrons are in the room and most of them including the bartender stare at us. In the back, behind a dancing stage, I spot a doorway and point at it: “That’s our exit!”

-We race for the exit, the stage is occupied by a Twi’lek dancing girl. I try to convice her to let us pass and get backstage. Charm (2) vs. difficulty of 3 (easy, since that is what the adventure suggests and because I have a fellow Twi’lek with me): 6, 3, success.

-The dancing girl nods and moves aside: “Quick, in here, I try to distract whoever is coming for you.”

-Only moments after we slip through the door the Gamorreans arrive, look around, squeak at each other and then turn to leave. The perfect moment to strike has come…

Encounter 2: A gang of Gamorreans

Option B: The Gamorreans are not only armed with melee weapons but also with blasters and a few of the patrons take side for them, since they fear Teemo. A wins 7 to 2, so by the book again.

-We can surprise them. I take aim with my blaster pistol, Oskara with her blaster carbine. “On my mark…the one that is closer…” I whisper.

-Time for some stats: Gamorrean thugs: B: 3, M: 1, C: 1, HP: 3 each, steel club (melee, damage 2)

-A ranged attack against a target that is nearby, Body + cliche vs. 4: Pash 6, 2, hit; Oskara 1, 5, 4, 3, hit. Our two blaster bolts strike the closest Gamorrean. He goes down, he never knew what hit him.

-Does the remaining Gamorrean press the attack? (even odds, GM apprentice draw) No, he decides to flee. He sprints out of the cantina.

-I try to get one last shot in, I want to wound him and aim for his leg (called shot, difficulty 6: 4, 3, miss). My shot goes wide. “Quick Oskara, don’t let him get away!”

-She shoots: 3, 3, 5, 5, miss. Her shots miss by only a hair but the Gamorrean gets away.

-We shouldn’t stick around to long, let’s get out of here.

-As we hop off stage the bartender signals for us: “If I were you I would get the hell out of Mos Shuuta now. To bad that the only ship in town at the moment is owned by a Trandoshan named Trex who is in the employ of Teemo. It is also unfortunate that the ship has a broken hyperdrive. Anyhow, it is in bay Aurek right now, I don’t know for how long. Now get out of my cantina!”

 

To be continued…

